Merging duplicate contractor accounts on Dwellant

Sometimes due to a host of reasons, there could be more than one account for a Contractor organisation on Dwellant. This can create confusion for both Contractors and Managing agent clients, resulting in requests being allocated to unintended accounts, documents attached to wrong accounts, so on and so forth.  If having multiple accounts is not a deliberate decision, it could prove critical and cause delays in communications, jobs being worked upon, payments, to name a few complications, as most Contractor users are unaware about having more than one account for their organisation in most cases. 

 

Duplicate accounts for Contractor organisations could be due to either of the 2 scenarios as below-

  1. Valid reason - The multiple accounts attribute to distinct branches under same Contractor organisation. These accounts are separate as they bear distinct details and separate office operations such as bank account, company number, VAT, location, regional offices, etc.
  2. Invalid reason - This occurs mostly when the Managing agent clients look up a certain Contractor in the system but are unable to find them due to incorrect name search, or location filters amongst various reasons. Hence they might decide to go ahead and register the given Contractor without doing cross-checks such as confirming offline with the Contractor, or raising this with Dwellant customer support. 

     

How to find out if my organisation has more than one account in Dwellant?
 

If your email address is linked with the multiple accounts, you can switch between the accounts in same login session without needing to logout. To switch between the accounts-

  1. Just click on the organisation name banner on the top left section
  2. Click on the organisation name you wish to switch to from the list 
  3. You will be redirected to that account

 

How to merge or consolidate the accounts?

One way to fix the duplicate accounts is to merge the accounts. Merging the accounts essentially consolidates all information from all accounts such as users, invoices, requests, contracts, clients, etc  into the primary account chosen for the merge. 

However merge is only advised when we are absolutely sure that the accounts belong to one and same organisation. All the accounts to be merged must have same bank account, VAT number (if applicable), company number, and same domain address. 

Merging of accounts can be actioned only by the Customer support team at Dwellant. If you wish to get the duplicate accounts merged, please discuss internally and have a confirmation on the below pointers in place prior to raising a ticket. Once ready, please send an email to the support team with below details-

 

  1. Name of all the duplicate accounts for same organisation as on Dwellant 
  2. Primary account (all other accounts will be merged into this primary account. Make sure the chosen primary account has all the updated bank account, accreditation documents and other company profile details. You can check this under Company tab.
  3. Full page screenshots wherever possible.

    Merging of Contractor accounts is a crucial process and can't be undone, therefore please include all the above details mandatorily in the email requesting the merge. The team will use above information to conduct series of checks before the merge or to advise further. 

 

After the merge-

Regardless of the status of the merge, the team will notify you on the original ticket once its completed. If its gone through successfully, you will be advised to logout and log back in to see the merged account with all information from all accounts in one place. You can double check this by clicking on organisation name on top, and it shouldn't show you any other names except for that of the primary account as chosen for the merge. 

Additionally all the details as held for yourselves within your clients' accounting system will be automatically synced with that on the consolidated account. However it might be a good idea to let them know in prior or later about the merge if they are accustomed to using your previous duplicate accounts, or search by the names as on those accounts.

If needed, you can also change the name of the account to any of previous names after the merge under Company / Profile / organisation name field from the left sidebar.

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request